Posted by: zenmamajo | April 1, 2011

And The Versatile Blogger Award Goes To…

Me (and 14 other people, but who’s counting! *hahaha*)! A huge thanks and virtual bear hug to my mensa bloggin friend Melissa! What a welcome surprise after a weary day of battling 2 yr old wills (intentionally plural because the twins decided to team up on me today!!!) Be sure to check out her delightful site of charming posts such as Well, I Told You He Bites, Eat Yourself Happy, and many many more. And oh by the way…she’s not just any blogger: she’s a freshly pressed veteran which makes this award even sweeter – it’s like mr. miyagi telling daniel-san “well-done” *hahaha*

here are the rules that accompany this award:
1. Thank and link to the person who awarded you. (check!)
2. Share 7 random facts about yourself. (check!)
3. Pass the award on to 15 new-found blogging buddies (i’m going to send it to the 8 blogs i check regularly). (check!)
4. Contact those buddies, and congratulate them! (check!)

and now for…

1. i was a contestant on the price is right back when bob barker was still the host! look for a post soon about my experience and how you can be a contestant on the show!

2. i bleed blue…i was born and raised as an ‘air force brat’, served in the AF, and now an AF spouse…off we goooo – in to the wild blue yonder! climbing hiiiiiigh in to the sun!

3. my family was stationed at clark air base, philippines for the devastating July 16, 1990, 7.7 magnitude earthquake. i’ll never forget how my german shepherd and i were watching t.v. after school when she started barking wilding out of the blue. moments later our entertainment center started shaking violently so we ran outside (dddduuuummmb – but hey: what can you expect from an 12yr old who is home alone?) – i’ll never forget how the ground we were standing on rolled up and down like a human wave at a basketball game.
4. my family was still stationed at clark for the June 12, 1991 mt. pinatubo eruption. we were in taiwan for my grandfather’s funeral. mt. pinatubo had had ongoing minor eruptions for months but we were briefed that nothing significant would occur…

5. i was born in japan (misawa air base…amori…also lived in yakota air base and okinawa..)

6. i participated in a 3-day, 60 mile breast cancer walk in boston.

7. i successfully completed a 5 mile trail run less than 8 weeks after having my 4th child (in 5 years…)…my goals were to A) beat the pregnant woman, B) beat the 300+lb guy, and C) Beat the 9 yr old kid…in the end i beat the kid and a 60+ yr old woman and about three others – all without passing out – hooray! i hadn’t ran in years and only trained for about two weeks – i’m grateful that i survived (literally…)

my pay-it-forward blogger award recipients:
1. captain obvious
2. the searcher
3. Trinity River
4. the domestic fringe
5. the running garlic
6. cleaning up a town
7. the life of jamie
8. 4 Real Talk’s Weblog

happy reading and happy blogging!

Responses

  1. Thank you – what a sweet surprise this morning! Have a fantastic day!
    Debbie 🙂

    • hey, debbie! you (and your blog) – toootally deserve the promotion – it’s so unique and full of gardening/cooking nuggets – thank *you* for the posts!

  2. Thanks Zen Mama!

    • welcome – least i could do after the laughs i got from your posts *hahaha*

  3. Holy cow! You ran 5 miles after your baby. 8 weeks after I had my baby, I’m pretty sure I was still in my pj’s wondering how I was going to manage a nap between baby cries. Good for you!

    Thank you for the award. It is an honor. 🙂
    -FringeGirl

    • okay – maybe i should have said i ‘jogged’…or maybe even ‘fast walked’…*hahah* don’t be impressed – i was going really, really slow…i remember feeling totally deflated when i saw “mile 2” at the 30 min mark…really…i was that slow *hahaha*

      the award was my pleasure! i enjoy your perspectives and your boldness!

  4. I must say, I am completely honored! Thanks for the nomination, hope you have an awesome weekend 🙂

    p.s. I cant wait to read about your Price is Right Experience!

    • you’re welcome! the price is right – i’m probably more excited to write about the experience!

  5. Congratulations again! And thank you for the wonderful things you said. I am so amazed after reading your “fun facts.” You have led an incredible life. My two kids are 18 months apart — but you definitely have me beat! It was so fun to learn these things about you. I look forward to a continued blog-friendship. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

